Toyota's own W40 And W50 Series Standard Units

Among many of the Toyota transmission there is the W40 which is a 4 speed rear wheel drive transmission and the W50 is a 5 speed rwd.

In the "W" 40 series there is the W40, W46, and the the 50 series: W50, W55, W58 and the W59. There are other models that are not mentioned here because they where used in vehicles or model not present in the states; and as a result we do not carry parts for them.

Depending on year and version the cases could be aluminum or steel. The W40 speed was used in base model vehicles and where introduced in 1970 2wd Toyota Celica and Corona and was also used in the Pickups. The W46 went into service in 1983 in the pickup truck in 2 and 4 wd.

The W50 was equipped in the Pickup, Celica, Corona, Cressida and Supra from 1972-1981. In 1983 the W56 was an option in the Pick-up and 4-Runner; in 1982 the W58 for the Cressida, Supra and Tacoma. And the W59 came in the Pickup Truck, Tacoma, T100 and 4Runner from 1992 and up.

We carry many parts for all the gearbox models mentioned above including the rebuild kit, seal kits, shafts, synchronizer blocker rings, bearings, races, bushings and sliders. Visit our Standard Transmission Parts Page.

Happy Holidays!

Its that time of the year again where we look back and are grateful to all of you for choosing us as your transmission parts supplier. We look forward to next year as we increase our product line to better server you.

We wish you and yours a safe holiday and bright future for the next year from all of us at Cobra Transmission Parts.

How Do I Know The Transmission Model In My Toyota?

Do you need to order Toyota Transmission Parts?

Not sure of the transmission model you need to order the parts for?

Well, fear not; there are several ways to identify the transmission. The first way is to use the Vehicle to Transmission Index located here. Or you can simply go to the vehicles Serial Number Identification Tag which contains engine and transmission information.

Another option is to go the drivers side door and you will find a sticker or plaque with a series of information including the vehicle's vin or chassis number, manufactured by info, manufacturing date (usually month and year) and other valuable information and codes. The code we are looking for is located in the bottom left hand corner. In the example below it reads: A/TM - 742/A140L This means it is an Automatic Transmission (A/TM) and the model is A140L.

The last but not least way to check is to find the tag information off the transmission itself. Somewhere on the unit, varies by model and mfg location, there is a tag with the model number on it.

And Now The MB 722.9 Valve Body

The 722.9 is a 7 speed automatic transmission developed by Mercedes Benz. It has 7 forward speeds and 2 reverse speeds. This unit is also referred to as the NAG-2, V7A-700 and the 7G-Tronic.

As best we can figure out the 722.9 transmission was introduced back in 2000 in the C Class Mercedes Benz for the markets in China, Egypt, Germany, South Africa, India and Malaysia. It came to the State in 2005 in the C Class, E Class and the S Class. Since then it has been introduced in a variety of different MB vehicles for most markets.

The valve body is one of the larger ones we have seen around here. Bigger than Nissan's RE5RO5 valve body. It has eight solenoids, speed sensors, electronic control module (ecm) and fluid temperature sensor all incorporated with in the valve body. All together it is know as the Electrohydraulic Control Module.